Photos taken with the lens detached from the camera but held in place and moved around to focus. This also lets extra light in sometimes causing light leaks and giving a vintage look and feel.

Freelensing can also:

  • Give extra bokeh by shrinking the area in focus (aperture is 0)
  • Allow for super macro shots
  • Produce ethereal lighting by allowing stray light to get in to the sensor
  • Make delicious light leaks
  • Create tilt-shift effects


 


Comments on: "What is Freelensing" (2)

  1. teresa hewitt said:

    This is a very interesting article Syndi. I would have never thought to open my lens and keep it open to take pictures. I am always so concerned with getting dust on the sensor. It is something that I am considering trying though.

  2. Bruce H said:

    An all this time I thought I was making a mistake instead of making art. I see your WP is different from Blogger. Good job.

Leave a Reply

